Is there something in the water?

February 14, 2008 at 4:18 am 4 comments

     Nah, just something in the food and our genes, apparently. One of the first interventions recommended for children with speech delays is the gluten (wheat, oats, barley, rye) free, casein (animal milk protein) free diet (GF/CF). C has been GF/CF since he was 18 months old. But I’ve recently found out I have celiac disease myself (and have been GF for 6 weeks now!), as well as carrying both sets of genes that are the best predictors of celiac disease. Generously I passed on one set of these genes to C. 

     I am part of the camp that believes children with autism carry a set of genes that predisposes them to the disease. I believe autism is a medical disease, not an irreversible brain problem. I believe that any number of assaults on their systems can trigger the disease for these kids who seem less able to process things through their bodies. C has multiple food allergies, and his body can’t handle the complex proteins found in wheat, milk, and soy. He has some type of yet undiagnosable autoimmune disorder that affects his joints. I believe his repeated illnesses last year were due to the chemicals off-gassing out of our new carpet. We gave him the flu shot the first two years of his life because his doctor told us to – along with the two full doses of mercury that came with those shots (as well as the mercury from the flu shot I received when pregnant). He has live measles virus in his system (presumably from the MMR shot), and has extremely low clinical immunity to pneumonia. Combine all of that with his traumatic birth, and is it any wonder his system reacted the way it did?

     I do not believe C’s autism was caused by vaccines. He had autism from birth, and I think the vaccines simply served to exacerbate his condition. However, we simply must demand more research into ALL the chemicals to which we expose ourselves and our children. We stand to lose too much as a society if we don’t help these kids.  

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Acceptance Snowflakes everywhere!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jesch  |  February 15, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    amen, sistah, amen

    Reply
  • 2. abstractionreaction  |  February 16, 2008 at 4:32 am

    You are so right about needing more testing into the chemicals that are in our environment and food. I don’t know much about the specifics of autism but genetic susceptibility plays a role in almost every condition or health state. There are naysayers but I think that minimizing exposure to chemicals etc. can only be good!

    Absolutely! There’s so much more out there now than 30 years ago – and so much of it now hasn’t been tested. It’s scary stuff. I hopped over to your blog and found it quite interesting! I’ll be visiting you more!

    Reply
  • 3. awalkabout  |  February 16, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Us, too. Once these were born, the generation did a survey, and there’s four kids in this generation of my husband’s family dxed with autism. My husband’s brother was dxed MR as a boy, but looking at the characteristics, he’s clearly autistic. Then they all started talking about: Remember Grandpa M and how he only took pictures of trains? And weird old uncle so and so…and it’s clearly a genetic pattern of folk that only looked odd back then but examining the whole picture now gives a clear view of what’s happened. Sadly, I don’t see the environmental issues clearing up, so as wonderful as it is to have children, I pretty much wish none of my kids will have more. It would save a lot of heartache down the road. 😦

    Wow. It does make you wonder, doesn’t it? I joke to my husband that had we known our own genes were such a mess, we never would’ve bred! But his brother is MR as well, and I think it’s autism too, although he’s so different than C my husband doesn’t see it. Regardless, I do see each generation getting unhealthier – I’m experiencing symptoms (arthritis, malabsorption, etc.) NOW that my mom had 15 years in age later, and I see C having those symtoms as a child…yikes. Add the chemicals/environmental problems and it’s toxic soup for sure!

    Reply
  • 4. hfamom  |  February 17, 2008 at 3:03 am

    I’m with you on predisposition. I think there is something– or multiple somethings– that cause Autism to be there.

    I don’t know if it is the Mercury but who in the H#%* ever decided to put mercury in a vaccine?! How stupid– catastrophic!

    Both my Grandfather and my husband’s father had significant Auspergers traits… there are lots of other issues in our families but no other Autism diagnosis besides my J.

    So sad, Walkabout… Al Gore for President! Let’s get the environment cleaned up!

    I know – they’re taking it out of cosmetics, which just goes ON our skin, but leaving it in flu vaccines, which actually gets inside! Um, helloooooo??? It drives me batty. I’m beginning to think chemicals will get us all far before any wars coming along…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,444 hits

