Bargaining

January 29, 2008 at 3:46 am 2 comments

          For me, the bargaining stage of grief was brief, twisted, and selfish. It wasn’t “give me this and I’ll do that” kind of bargaining; it was far more convoluted in nature. I remember when he was born, C was immediately taken away and was on a ventilator 1/2 hour later. I struggled so much with recovering from my c-section that I didn’t see him again until he was almost two days old, and then I saw him only because they were airlifting him to another hospital. I remember thinking that if he died and I hadn’t held him, I would be less attached to him and therefore would feel his loss less. And somewhere, in the deep recesses of my mind, I was thinking “If don’t love him, God won’t take him away.” As if he wouldn’t attract God’s attention if he weren’t loved. What kind of vindictive God was I thinking about, exactly, and where did that image come from? I know now I was trying to shield myself from the unimagineable pain I would feel if this child died, but it’s strange to me now to see how my mind was working. It’s bizarre and difficult to admit, but it’s only now, years later, that I can recognize what I was thinking at that time.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , .

Spreading his joy Stranger Danger

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hfamom  |  January 29, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    You’re strong. Not only to endure– but to admit. I feel like if I admit some of the crazy, selfish thoughts I’ve had/have they might somehow come true. Bless your guts, sister!

    You’re obviously a loving mother and C is so lucky he’s yours.

    Reply
  • 2. wilddaisy33  |  January 29, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    OHMYGOSH – I worry about that too – if I acknowledge the thoughts, they will happen. What a tangled web we weave, no???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,076 hits

