Spreading his joy

January 27, 2008 at 8:32 pm 1 comment

     There is a charm about C that captivates people. (Actually, he captivates adults; children haven’t yet come to appreciate him.) He talks with people in the grocery store, at the post office, and everywhere else we go. Teachers I don’t even know stop me in the hallway at school to tell me something cute he said to them. He calls out, “Hey, pretty lady!” to about every woman we see, putting smiles on the faces of elderly blue haired women in the aisles of Safeway.

     Today, however, he turned that sweetness and light toward me. I haven’t showered and I’m in sweats as I’m watching an old rerun of “America’s Next Top Model.” When he asked what the show was, I told him it’s about pretty girls. He said to me, “You’re a pretty girl, Mommy, you should be on that show.” Then he added, “Wouldn’t it be cool if all the girls in the world could be on that show?” I was struck with his amazing perspective on seeing the beauty in everyone and how easy it is for him. Of course he probably doesn’t yet possess the level of insight with which I’m crediting him, but perhaps it really is just that simple.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , .

What is it about poop? Bargaining

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. FXSmom  |  January 29, 2008 at 3:57 am

    Aaahhh…C is adorable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,223 hits

