What is it about poop?

January 24, 2008 at 5:35 pm 8 comments

     I’m taking a break from the stages of grief.

     Those of you who know something about autism know there’s usually a gastrointestinal component to the disease, and you’re probably expecting a post about that. This is far more banal.

     C is fascinated with poop. What size it is, what shape it is, whether it looks like a specific letter, how much there is, how it sounds when it hits the water, where it goes after it’s flushed, what color it is, if he weighs less after it, if everyone else has the same size poop, if someone left some in the toilet at school, why the dog goes outside (“Can I go outside, Mommy?”), if we can go visit the sewer treatment plant, if it’s “messy,” and on, and on, and on.

      The trick, however, is getting him not to share this information with the entire world, and also not to share it at the dinner table. Inevitably, discussing those rules brings up a whole different set of issues about social rules – yes, it’s okay to talk to your teacher about it if there’s a problem with your poop, but no it’s not okay to ask her what color her poop is. It also brings up the questions about whether we can discuss it at the table when we’re NOT eating dinner, and why it’s okay to get up from the dinner table to let the dog out to go poop.

      Is it any wonder I’m finding gray hair?? 🙂

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , .

Anger Spreading his joy

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hfamom  |  January 24, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    What a hoot! It’s one of those “You know you shouldn’t laugh but, by God! It’s funny!” things.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 2. t  |  January 24, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    there’s a lot to know about poop. quit stifling his curiosity! 😉

    maybe in addition to being a sign inspector, he can inspect poop when it’s time to get a job. i would think you could do those simultaneously.

    Reply
  • 3. hfamom  |  January 25, 2008 at 2:14 am

    I just occured to me as I was chuckling about poop… don’t ask. Anyway, there is this really cute book “Everybody Poops” I’ll bet C would love it! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. awalkabout  |  January 25, 2008 at 3:04 am

    I think you’re approaching it wrong… *L* Call it Scatology. Then it seems like Science. Much cooler than poop!!! A Junior Researcher in our midst! Congrats!

    babs

    Reply
  • 5. C's Daddy  |  January 25, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Scatology . . . I like it. It must be in the bloodline as C’s great-uncle is a renowned parisitologist . . .

    Reply
  • 6. wilddaisy33  |  January 25, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    I do like the term “Scatology.” I’ll have to share that word with him as he’d enjoy it.

    And HFAMom, I do have that book – it really is quite cute. I wish I’d thought of writing it myself!

    Reply
  • 7. wilddaisy33  |  January 25, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    And let me clarify, I have NO problem with his interest – T$, you know I’m not trying to stifle his curiosity! My concern, of course, is that he knows the rules as to when/where and with whom he may discuss his latest obsession. 😉

    Reply
  • 8. hfamom  |  January 26, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    If he calls it “Scat” instead of “poop” it becomes more scientific and less gross– think about how impressive he would be at a dinner party!

    Maybe you could teach him about animal tracks since they go hand in hand. I know I’ve seen books and kits that combine the two…

    J announces burbs and toots… it’s a lot of fun in a restaurant! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,076 hits

