The stages of grief

January 18, 2008 at 9:29 pm 6 comments

     I’ve heard people talk about the five stages of grief in terms of dealing with a serious diagnosis for a child. You grieve for what they might have been, the loss of normalcy, the things you thought you could take for granted. I, for one, feel like I have gone through the stages of grief in varying degrees multiple times with each new issue that arises. I change from stage to stage in any given year, month, day, and even minute. From day C was born (and subsequently nearly died), we’ve been dealing with one thing after another. That’s not to say there haven’t been good days; happily, there have been many, many of those. But as each new issue started, I kept thinking “This will be it. This will be the last thing to happen.” I no longer say that to myself.

     Here’s the list: respiratory distress syndrome, pneumothorax, pulmonary interstitial emphysema, pulmonary hypertension, hypotension, sepsis, apnea, bradycardia, oligihydramnios, prematurity, tracheomylacia, global developmental delays, oral motor dysfunction, failure to thrive, hypotonia, sensory integration dysfunction, reflux, reactive airway disease, asthma, left-side weakness, ankle pronation, atypical tongue grooving, toxic synovitis, ataxia, verbal apraxia, oral apraxia, plagiocephaly, food allergies, unspecified autoimmune disease, impaired methylation abilities, yeast problems, absent glutathione production, high functioning autism, developmental coordination disorder, hyperlexia.

      WHEW!

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , .

Through his eyes. Caveat

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jesch  |  January 18, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    Sigh. It’s really something to see it all together.

    Reply
  • 2. wilddaisy33  |  January 18, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    I know – and I think I missed a few in there. What a whirlwind life this child has had!

    Reply
  • 3. hfamom  |  January 18, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    I don’t know what to say… sounds like a rough road. “Hang in there” just doesn’t cut it… you have my email if you ever want to talk. Take care of you too.

    Reply
  • 4. t  |  January 22, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    that’s hard to read, on many levels.

    Reply
  • 5. Sheila  |  October 7, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    That sure doesn’t sound like Asperger’s Syndrome. I’m at a loss for words naturally, so reading this has my head spinning. I feel ashamed for so much of what I’ve complained about.

    Believe me, it had my head spinning too. I had never put it all into one paragraph like that before, and it was sobering to say the least!

    It’s funny that you say you feel ashamed for what you’ve complained about, because I often feel the same way when I talk to other parents whose children have medical and/or developmental issues. C is so happy, so bright, and is doing so well that I feel silly sometimes even voicing worries or concerns. So I guess it’s all relative, and we all have the right to our own feelings about these things.

    Reply
  • 6. Cristy  |  October 8, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Hi, I found your blog searching out stages of grief with child diagnosis. I wanted to let you know that I found it helpful, in expressing things I hadn’t figured out yet. Acceptance is sure hard, getting to the point where you can actually not panic while knowing “this probably won’t be the last issue” as something new crops up. The stress can eat away our own mental and physical health. So I hope I can get to the calmer acceptance stage soon. My son was Dx with tuberous sclerosis back in March. 10 years of having a “normal” kid sure made it hard to believe he could have something significantly wrong. You hate to wish to be one of the “lucky ones” because that seems to be hoping other people will take the harder burdens. And yet, we are thankful for each test that puts him on the “mild” end of the spectrum.

    I hope you keep writing, and inspiring others!

    Wow.Thank you. I just sent you an email, so please check there for my response! Bless you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

The Best

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,383 hits

