For better or for worse.

January 15, 2008 at 7:40 pm 4 comments

     Our son is very high functioning in terms of the autism spectrum. He is able to communicate (although his comments/topics/comprehension often range from the bizarre to incredibly insightful to just “off”), and he is very, very bright. When I feel down or frustrated with our situation, along comes the guilt because I know how much worse it could be. Again, under the category of things I used to say, falls something I’ve said to myself a million times – “It could be so much worse.”

     Another mom I know, whose child has asperger’s syndrome, replied to a friend who made that statement, “Yes, but it could be so much better.” And she’s right. It could be so much better. I struggle with wishing this disease away and blessing it for making my child the intriguing, wonderful little person he is.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , .

The high cost of autism Like Mother, like child

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. acollage  |  January 15, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    So true! I have a son with very high functioning autism (though I know that term bothers some) and I’ve heard often “at least he speaks.” Definitely, we are SO blessed he speaks. But, when he uses that ability of speech to scream mean, hateful things, frequently, it doesn’t mean he’s not autistic, or undeserving of intensive help. I’ll take “I hate you!” any day over never hearing “I love you,” but speech=good communication, something so many don’t understand. Have a good day!

    Reply
  • 2. hfamom  |  January 15, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    I know what you mean! I feel guilty for wanting Autism to go away while knowing that it’s such a part of who my son is.

    I’ve made your blog a daily “must do!”

    Reply
  • 3. awalkabout  |  January 16, 2008 at 12:26 am

    I really tend to come down on the side of “it could be much worse,” too. Depends on which day and which autistic child–we have one HFA and one with Asperger’s and they are seriously, opposite ends of the spectrum. Wonderful post. 🙂

    babs

    Reply
  • 4. wilddaisy33  |  January 16, 2008 at 4:10 am

    Ditto – I’ve got yours bookmarked as well! I’m really enjoying reading it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,383 hits

