Just what do we need, exactly?

January 10, 2008 at 3:51 am 5 comments

     I used to say “God never gives you more than you can handle.” And, in the way that people we spend only the briefest about of time with can sometimes do, an acquaintance profoundly changed my mindset. I was talking with a woman one day who responded to my sentiment about what God gives us by saying, “No, God gives us what we need.”

     What a powerful statement. I still haven’t figured out how that statement applies to me exactly, but I’m on the watch (and receive clues) for it daily.

      My husband and I have a 6 year old with high functioning autism. He is an extraordinary child to say the least. Parenting him has been nothing like I thought parenting would be – in happy ways and in challenging ones as well. 

     Welcome to our journey.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , .

Daytime talk television strikes again…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Robin rudin  |  January 11, 2008 at 4:53 am

    Darcy, you had me at “I used to say….” I think we can never be grown up until we are parents. Our life is on hold until the day we become parents. At that point, the pause button is released and fast forward begins! The lessons role by instantaneously. I just had a conversation with my adolescent 14 year old. Mom, I know you’ve been telling me to stand up straight forever (my low tone child) but don’t you know I do things on my own time! (He’s decided to stand up straight because he’s discovered girls–one in particular– and he wants to be tall (or taller). So much for all that swimming, OT, tennis and strength building activities over the last 13.85 years!!! All it took was girls and his desire–not mine!! And, this issue of his time versus my time. I know that is true but why can’t I give up this quest for so many things that keep me up at night, and, that I have no control over. Motherhood. Oh, and for those of us that really like rules and really dislike changes, it is imperative to engage in parenthood so you can totally outgrow those delusions!!!!! Darcy, I can’t wait for your next pearls of wisdom. More, more, more!!! Keep on writing, oh, blogging.

    Reply
  • 2. hfamom  |  January 12, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    What a wonderful lesson! Thank you for reminding me.

    Reply
  • 3. wilddaisy33  |  January 14, 2008 at 12:39 am

    Robin – you are the best, and always full of great thoughts and ideas! It’s all about motivation for them, isn’t it? ABA at work in real life – they do it when they want because they are properly motivated….I learn that over and over again.

    Reply
  • 4. wilddaisy33  |  January 14, 2008 at 12:41 am

    Thanks, HFAMom. I think I need to check out your page too!

    Reply
  • 5. I’m just one of those mothers « What We Need  |  December 3, 2009 at 5:53 am

    […] It takes me back to the very beginning of my blog (see here), nearly two years ago now. While I do believe that God gives us what we need, I’m still on […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,177 hits

